2016 Super Rugby

2016 Super Rugby

Super Rugby 2016

Super Rugby 2016 promises six months' of gripping action, with 4 new conferences, 3 new teams, 2 new countries and 1 new trophy, bringing you a series of weekends for the ultimate rugby getaway.

Delivering the 21st season of the Super Rugby series, the event has expanded to an 18-team format, with the addition of teams from Argentina and Japan joining the round-robin games, which take place every weekend from 26 February to 16 July 2016 (with a break for international matches during June), followed by the finals series at the end of July, and culminating in the final on 6 August.

At a glance

Expansion to 18 teams with the addition of the Kings from South Africa and new teams from Japan and Argentina.

Countries: Argentina (1 team); Australia (5 teams); Japan (1 team); New Zealand (5 teams) and South Africa (6 teams). For all team information, click here.

Tournament format(s): Round-robin and Knockout

2016 Super Rugby

Four conferences in two groups:

Australasian Group

Australian Conference: (Brumbies, Force, Rebels, Reds, Waratahs).

New Zealand Conference: (Blues, Chiefs, Crusaders, Highlanders, Hurricanes).

South African Group:

Africa Conference 1: (Bulls, Cheetahs, Stormers, Japanese Team).

Africa Conference 2: (Kings, Lions, Sharks, Argentinean Team).

2016 Super Rugby

How it works

2016 Super Rugby

2016 Super Rudby Fixtures

2016 Super Rugby


Roll of Honour

Super 12:

1996 Blues

1997 Blues

1998 Crusaders

1999 Crusaders

2000 Crusaders

2001 Brumbies

2002 Crusaders

2003 Blues

2004 Brumbies

2005 Crusaders

Super 14:

2006 Crusaders

2007 Bulls

2008 Crusaders

2009 Bulls

2010 Bulls

Super Rugby

2011 Reds

2012 Chiefs

2013 Chiefs

2014 Waratahs

2015 Highlanders

Plan your trip to one of the 2016 Super Rugby Tournaments now; get your quote on car rental here. To find out more about the 2016 Super Rugby tournament, click here.

First in Car Hire. First in Service.