SA Passports have Visa-Free Access to 61 Countries

February 2017 - Planning a holiday abroad is an exciting prospect but can also be a bureaucratic nightmare for those on restricted passports.

The latest data on passport ranking reveals that there is some hope for South African travellers wanting to explore international frontiers without having to go through the painstaking process of applying for expensive visas.

Visa-free travel South Africa

South African travellers carrying an official passport have access to 59 countries visa-free.

According to the latest edition of the Arton Capital’s global ranking 'Passport Index', which ranks the passports from 219 countries according to the travel freedom that their citizens enjoy, South Africa's passport is ranked 48th in the top 50 most powerful passports in the world - with a total visa-free score of 94.

This impressive result means that South African travellers carrying an official passport have access to 64 countries visa-free for 90 days, with an additional 30 countries operating on the visa-on arrival or the Electronic Travel Authorisation (eTA) system.

(An eTA is an entry requirement for visa-exempt foreign nationals; the authorization is electronically linked to your passport).

To help you plan a stress-free international holiday, here is a handy guide to the countries that South Africans can travel to without a visa.

Visa Requirements for South Africans

Visa-free Countries for South Africans

 Angola  Fiji  Macao  Senegal
 Antigua and Barbuda  Gabon  Malawi  Singapore
 Argentina  Georgia  Malaysia  South Korea
 Bahamas  Grenada  Mauritius  St. Vincent and the Grenadines
 Barbados  Guatemala  Micronesia  Sawziland
 Belize  Guyana  Mozambique  Tanzania
 Benin  Haiti  Namibia  Thailand
 Botswana  Honduras  Nicaragua  Trinidad and Tobago
 Brazil  Hong Kong  Palestinian Territories  Tunisia
 Chile  Indonesia  Panama  Uruguay
 Colombia  Ireland  Paraguay  Vanuatu
 Costa Rica  Israel  Peru  Venezuela
 Dominica  Jamaica  Philippines  Zambia
 Dominican Republic  Kenya  Russian Federation  Zimbabwe
 Ecuador  Kosovo  Saint Kitts and Nevis  
 El Salvador  Lesotho  Saint Lucia  

Visa-on-Arrival Counties for South Africans

 Armenia  Ghana  Marshall Islands  Timor-Leste
 Bolivia  Guinea-Bissau  Mauritania  Togo
 Cambodia  Iran  Nepal  Turkey
 Cape Verde  Jordan  Oman  Tuvalu
 Comoros  Kyrgyzstan  Palau  Uganda
 Cote d'Ivoire  Laos  Rwanda  
 Djibouti  Madagascar  Samoa  
 Ethiopia  Maldives  Seychelles  

eTA Countries for South Africans

 Sri Lanka

Planning a holiday abroad? Book your international hire car with First Car Rental.

First in Car Hire. First in Service.