Chris Shorter takes the Volkswagen Cup Championship

Signature Motorsports', Chris Shorter (Payen), emerged from Zwartkops as the 2016 Volkswagen Cup Champion.

December 2016 - Only one point separated him from Brad Liebenberg (Ferodo) with Keagan Masters (Champion) ending third, collecting the Rookie of the Year award along the way.

It was a historic moment for Signature Motorsport as never before has any team achieved a clean sweep of podium positions in the Volkswagen Cup's 20-year history.

It was also the first time any team has won four titles, of which the last three are back-to back, all of which earned Signature Motorsport the Best Team Award.

Chris Shorter

I was lacking two-tenths in qualifying pace but it was a reasonable result. In the first race, I passed Keagan at the start but he came back at me. I passed him again under braking and we had a good, clean race but just didn't have the pace to stay with Keagan. In race two, I made a good start and managed to drive through the carnage on lap three and slotted into third place. The team told me about Brad and Keagan and to bring the car home. I'm really happy to win the championship.
- Champion Chris Shorter (#33 Payen)

Signature Motorsport will return to Volkswagen Cup racing with a two-car team in 2017 with Matt Shorter and a new driver sporting a new Federal Mogul brand.

First Car Rental's simple 3-step online booking system means customers can book car hire in less than 1 minute! Book a car here.

First in Car Hire. First in Service.